Skip to main content

Feeding the Soul of the City

June 17, 2021

Community Partners Honored at “Feeding the Soul of the City”

Matt Talbot Kitchen & Outreach hosted the annual Feeding the Soul of the City fundraising event on June 17, 2021 at Junto Wine. Because of the generosity of 50 corporate and individual sponsors, the 225 guests who attended, and the many who gave donations prior to the event, Matt Talbot raised a gross total amount of nearly $140,000.  Money raised will support the day-to-day hunger relief and homeless prevention services of the community kitchen and outreach center. 

Compassion in Action Awards were presented to John Turner and the St. Francis & St. Clare Hunger Relief Team. John Turner, who currently works at Nebraska Investment Finance Authority, has been a long-time partner of Matt Talbot during his nearly 30 year career of addressing housing barriers and advocating for people experiencing homelessness, substance use, and mental health challenges. The St. Francis & St. Clare Hunger Relief Team is a multi-generational family that serves a homemade and nutritious dinner on the 4th Thursday of every month (including Thanksgiving!) for 21 years and counting.

“Honoring our partners with Compassion in Action Awards is one of my favorite things to do, and we sure missed doing it last year during the pandemic,” said Susanne Blue, Executive Director. “The only way to truly meet the needs of the homeless is to work together to find solutions so we love to celebrate our partners.” 

Guests were also treated to an inspiring video about Matt Talbot’s Street Outreach Program which features former clients and staff members. The video can be seen on Matt Talbot’s website or Facebook page.

“It takes a lot of courage to tell your story, and we are grateful that clients were willing to share so openly,” said Blue. “Some parts of the video are hard to watch, but we have to remember that ultimately we are sharing stories of transformation and illustrating the power of bold hope.”

Past "Compassion in Action" Award Winners

Individual Category

  • Greg Ernst - 2018
  • Ram Bishu- 2017
  • Jim & Mary Love - 2016
  • Joyce Champoux - 2015
  • Bill & Pat Lundak - 2014
  • Gene ”Woody” Woodhead - 2013
  • Senator Mike Johanns and Stephanie Johanns - 2012
  • Tony Ojeda - 2011
  • Mary Costello-2010
  • Scott Young-2009
  • Ruth McKinstry-2008
  • Liz Hertel-2007
  • Mary Jo Bousek-2006

Collaboration Category

  • Paul Mitchell - The School - 2019
  • CEDARS Youth Services/Street Outreach Program - 2019
  • SNAP Outreach Program: Food Bank of Lincoln and DHHS Children & Family Services Division - 2018
  • Dennis Hoffman-CenterPointe-2017
  • Beatty Brasch and the Center for People in Need - 2016
  • Southwood Lutheran Church - 2015
  • Clinic With A Heart - 2014
  • Lincoln Lancaster County Health Department - 2013
  • The Lincoln Police Department Center Team - 2012
  • Wynn Hjermstad & Dave Landis, City Urban Development Dept. - 2011
  • First Plymouth Congregational Church -2010
  • Lincoln Housing Authority and Consumer Credit Counselors -2009
  • Union College Nursing & Physician Assistant Program-2008
  • Community Health Endowment of Lincoln-2007
  • Eye Surgical Associates, Lens Crafters, & Professional Eye Care – 2006